TONSPUR for a public space
Sound works at MQ in Vienna
A project by Georg Weckwerth and Peter Szely


TONSPUR 58
Georg Nussbaumer [A]
Valkyries, riding, 2013
8-channel audio installation, 7-part series of posters
Length 32.05 min
Sound source: 8 Honda F6C Valkyries
Bikers: Einstein, Goschi, Maitre, Baumasta, Güni,
Käptn, Kocherl, Winnetou
Acoustic advice, sound recordings: Peter Böhm
Support: Robert Schwarz
Special thanks: Valkyrie Riders Austria
powered by Einstein – web



23.05.13–20.07.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [between MQ court 7 and 8]
Daily 10am to 8pm
Opening: We 22.02.13, 5pm
Opening words:
Georg Weckwerth [artistic director TONSPUR]
Sam Ashley [artist, musician] – read

TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE






VALKYRIES, RIDING
“Some people will tell you that slow is good — but I’m here to tell you that fast is better. I’ve always believed this, in spite of the trouble it’s caused me. Being shot out of a cannon will always be better than being squeezed out of a tube. That is why God made fast motorcycles, Bubba…” (Hunter S. Thompson)
Motorbikes are an integral part of the soundsphere of summer — fetish objects for some, an annoyance to others. They hold the promise of a primordial rush from acceleration, speed and sound, but are also core to lifestyles that have arisen around particular bikes. These range from the infamous Hell's Angels and their Harleys to rural moped clubs: their owners' yearnings, statements and sense of freedom are reflected in the machines' design, their noise and performance — and how they ride them.
A heavy Honda chopper is called Valkyrie — like the shieldmaidens who lead the fallen heroes to Valhalla in Richard Wagner's dramatic opera “Die Walküre”. And the recordings for “Walküren, reitend” [Valkyries, riding] were made on a trip with the 8 bikers from the Valkyrie Riders Austria as the 8 half-sisters riding/driving/flying out. The motorcycles were individually microphoned to record the sound made by each machine. The resulting audio material is also the realisation of the composition: 8 Valkyries from A to B and back.
The ride together can be a canon or the individual interpretation of the same stretch of road, an eight-part madrigal, perhaps sing-along, all bawling together. The ride of the Valkyries is to be recognised in the ride, the call of the Valkyries in the machines' roar.
Hojotoho, the master from Bayreuth is presented with the contemporary sound of his Valkyries. The installation places the listener in a sound space that suggests speed, power and ferocity and is transferred into a stillstanding movement: The ride repeats itself again and again, by association alluding to the Valkyries' waiting for the Twighlight of the Gods. An echoing landscape rushing past.


BIOGRAPHY
Georg Nussbaumer, born in Linz, Austria in 1964, lives and works in Vienna.
georgnussbaumer.com





TONSPUR 58 PASSAGE GALLERY
Designed by Georg Nussbaumer –

TONSPUR für einen öffentlichen raum
Klangarbeiten im MuseumsQuartier Wien
Ein Projekt von Georg Weckwerth und Peter Szely


TONSPUR 58
Georg Nussbaumer [A]
Walküren, reitend, 2013
8-Kanal-Audioinstallation, 7-teilige Posterreihe
Länge 32.05 min
Klangquellen: 8 Honda F6C Valkyries
Fahrer: Einstein, Goschi, Maitre, Baumasta, Güni,
Käptn, Kocherl, Winnetou
Akustische Beratung, Tonaufnahmen: Peter Böhm
Unterstützung: Robert Schwarz
Besonderer Dank: Valkyrie Riders Austria
powered by Einstein – web



23.05.13–20.07.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [zwischen MQ Hof 7 und 8]
Täglich 10–20h
Eröffnung: Mi 22.05.13, 17h
Einleitende Worte:
Georg Weckwerth [Künstlerischer Leiter TONSPUR]
Sam Ashley [Künstler, Musiker] – lesen


TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE





WALKÜREN, REITEND
„Manche Leute werden euch erzählen, langsam zu fahren sei gut (...), aber ich bin hier, um euch zu verkünden, dass schnell fahren besser ist. Davon war ich immer überzeugt, obwohl ich mir damit reichlich Ärger eingehandelt habe. Aus einer Kanone in die Luft geschossen zu werden ist immer besser, als aus einer Tube gedrückt zu werden. Eben darum hat Gott die schnellen Motorräder erschaffen, Bubba...“ (Hunter S. Thompson)
Motorräder sind fester Bestandteil sommerlicher Klangsphäre – Fetisch den einen, Ärgernis den anderen. Sie sind Versprechen elementarer Berauschung an Beschleunigung, Geschwindigkeit und Sound, aber auch Zentren von Life-Styles, die sich um ein bestimmtes Bike bilden. Die Bandbreite reicht hier von den berühmt-berüchtigten „Hells Angels“ und ihren „Harleys“ bis hin zum ländlichen Moped-Club: Sehnsüchte, Statements und Freiheitsbegriff der Besitzer spiegeln sich in Design, Klang, Leistung der Maschinen – und in der Fahrweise.
Ein schwerer Honda-Chopper heißt „Valkyrie“ – wie die Schildmaiden, die in Richard Wagners Musikdrama „Die Walküre“ die gefallenen Helden nach Walhall geleiten. Und wie die 8 Halbschwestern als Kollektiv ausreiten/fahren/fliegen, so entstanden die Aufnahmen für „Walküren, reitend“ bei einer gemeinsamen Ausfahrt von 8 Bikern der „Valkyrie Riders Austria“. Die Motorräder wurden dabei einzeln mikrofoniert, der individuelle ‚sound‘ jeder Maschine aufgezeichnet. Das so gewonnene Klangmaterial ist zugleich die Realisierung der Komposition: < 8 Valkyries von A nach B und zurück >
Die gemeinsame Fahrt kann ein Kanon oder die individuelle Interpretation derselben Strecke sein, ein achtstimmiges Madrigal, vielleicht ein ‚sing-along‘, ein gemeinsames Grölen. Der Walkürenritt findet sich in der gemeinsamen Ausfahrt wieder, der Walkürenruf im ‚Spruch der Maschinen‘.
„Hojotoho!“ – dem Meister aus Bayreuth wird der heutige Klang seiner Walküren vorgeführt. Die Installation versetzt den Hörer in einen Klangraum, der Geschwindigkeit, Kraft und Wildheit suggeriert, diese aber in eine stehende Bewegung überführt: Die Fahrt wiederholt sich wieder und wieder und assoziiert so das Warten der Walküren auf die Götterdämmerung. Vorbeirauschende, widerhallende Landschaft.


BIOGRAPHIE
Georg Nussbaumer, geboren 1964 in Linz, Österreich, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.
georgnussbaumer.com










Bundeskanzleramt Kunst


TONSPUR 58 PASSAGENGALERIE
Gestaltet von Georg Nussbaumer –