TONSPUR for a public space
Sound works at MQ in Vienna
A project by Georg Weckwerth and Peter Szely


TONSPUR 57
Gerald Fiebig [D]*
Sound Lane, 2013, 2013
Constructed Situation
8-channel audio, 7-part series of posters
Length 11.44 min
*42. TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence at quartier21/MQ



25.02.13–25.05.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [between MQ court 7 and 8]
Daily 10am to 8pm
Preview/Induction: Su 24.02.13, 5pm
Opening words:
Georg Weckwerth [artistic director TONSPUR]
Thomas Stangl [writer] – read


TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE








SOUND LANE. CONSTRUCTED SITUATION
“We really have to strain to still discover mysteries on the sidewalk billboards, the latest state of humour and poetry”, writes the Situationist Gilles Ivain in the “Formulary for a New Urbanism”. Gerald Fiebig discovered the street sign for Klanggasse in Leopoldstadt, the 2nd District of Vienna. So, too, the TONSPUR_passage is a kind of street (Gasse) for sounds (Klang). The poetry (and the humour) of this encounter inspired him to blend the soundtracks of the two Vienna Klanggasses together to create a third imaginary sound space.
The Museumsquartier and Leopoldstadt, dubbed the Mazzesinsel, are particularly well-suited for such blending as various historical and socio-political levels of meaning already overlap in both locations. With the MQ, a cultural centre has been created out of the Habsburg Imperial Stables. While the history of Fascism and war is just as legible as the workers movement is in the urban fabric of Leopoldstadt — named today after a man who drove the Jews out of there. At the same time, the District bears the signs of (the return of) active Jewish life and a wide spectrum of local initiatives.
For his installation Fiebig has recorded sounds at different locations along Klanggasse and disseminated them in the TONSPUR_passage. They form the acoustic starting point for his Constructed Situation: sometimes rhythmic, sometimes distorted by extreme stretching and compression, and sometimes pervaded with noises indistinguishable from the ‘real’ sounds in the passage. By bringing the everyday sounds of Klanggasse into the aesthetically coded space of the MQ, Fiebig adds an acoustic dimension to the city's visual symbolic level — and plays with the utopia of a city where there is no separation between art and life, between the emperor's residence and the ghetto.


BIOGRAPHIE
Gerald Fiebig, born in Augsburg, Germany in 1973, lives and works in Augsburg.
geraldfiebig.net
attenuationcircuit.de




TONSPUR 57
Text follows...
Georg Weckwerth, February 2013

PASSAGE GALLERY
Designed by Gerald Fiebig –

TONSPUR für einen öffentlichen raum
Klangarbeiten im MuseumsQuartier Wien
Ein Projekt von Georg Weckwerth und Peter Szely


TONSPUR 57
Gerald Fiebig [D]*
Klanggasse, 2013
Konstruierte Situation
8-Kanal-Audio, 7-teilige Posterreihe
Länge 11.44 min
*42. TONSPUR-Artist-in-Residence im quartier21/MQ



25.02.13–25.05.13
MuseumsQuartier Wien
TONSPUR_passage [zwischen MQ Hof 7 und 8]
Täglich 10–20h
Preview/Einweihung: So 24.02.13, 17h
Einleitende Worte:
Georg Weckwerth [Künstlerischer Leiter TONSPUR]
Thomas Stangl [Schriftsteller] – lesen


TONSPUR_TRIBUTE TO JOHN CAGE










KLANGGASSE. KONSTRUIERTE SITUATION
„Wer sich enorm müde läuft, kann noch Geheimnisse auf den Straßenschildern entdecken – der letzte Stand des Humors und der Poesie“, schreibt der Situationist Gilles Ivain im „Formular für einen neuen Urbanismus“. Gerald Fiebig hat im 2. Wiener Gemeindebezirk das Straßenschild der Klanggasse entdeckt. Auch die TONSPUR_passage im MuseumsQuartier ist eine Art Gasse für Klänge. Die Poesie (und der Humor) dieses Zusammentreffens regten ihn dazu an, die Tonspuren der beiden Wiener Klanggassen ineinanderzublenden und so einen dritten, imaginären Klangraum zu schaffen.
Das MuseumsQuartier und die Leopoldstadt bzw. Mazzesinsel bieten sich dafür besonders an, da sich in beiden historische und politisch-soziale Bedeutungsschichten deutlich sichtbar überlagern. Mit dem MQ wurde aus den habsburgischen Hofstallungen ein kulturelles Zentrum geschaffen. Im Stadtbild der Leopoldstadt (deren heutiger Namensgeber bereits die Juden von dort vertrieb) ist die Geschichte von Faschismus und Krieg ebenso lesbar wie die der Arbeiterbewegung, zugleich sind dem Bezirk (wieder) aktives jüdisches Leben und vielfältiges Engagement der Bewohner eingeschrieben.
Für seine Installation hat Fiebig an verschiedenen Stellen der Klanggasse Klänge aufgenommen und sie in der TONSPUR_passage verteilt. Sie bilden das akustische Ausgangsmaterial der von ihm konstruierten Situation: mal rhythmisiert, mal durch extreme zeitliche Dehnung und Stauchung verfremdet, mal ununterscheidbar mit den ‚realen‘ Klängen der Passage durchdrungen. Indem er den alltäglichen Lebens-Raum der Klanggasse in den ästhetisch codierten Raum des MQ holt, ergänzt Fiebig die visuellen Zeichenebenen der Stadt um eine akustische Dimension – und spielt mit der Utopie einer Stadt, in der es keine Trennung zwischen Kunst und Leben, zwischen Residenz und Ghetto gäbe.


ICH BIN NEU IN DER WIENER SCHULE
Gastbeitrag für den MQ-Blog von Gerald Fiebig
sof.mqw.at

BIOGRAPHIE
Gerald Fiebig, geboren 1973 in Augsburg, Deutschland, lebt und arbeitet in Augsburg.
geraldfiebig.net
attenuationcircuit.de









Bundeskanzleramt Kunst


TONSPUR 57
Text folgt...
Georg Weckwerth, Februar 2013

PASSAGENGALERIE
Gestaltet von Gerald Fiebig –